Gradual steps.

A few things have happened in the last few months since my last post.

I survived a sweaty uphill 4 km hike and slept with spiders the size of my palm. I swam under waterfalls and got dragged around in a moving house. I ‘glamped’ out at a riverside camp and rode the local train for 3 hours while savouring my chocolate ice cream.

Sukkothai-eyesupco-2

I travelled back home to Canada to see my friends, my family and wandered familiar streets.

I watched my team get bigger and then smaller and soon to be bigger once more after countless interviews.Β Oh, and I moved to a ‘big girl’ one bedroom apartment.

You know the expression, it’s funny how life changes so quickly? Well, instead of laughing, I’m finding room for adjustments.

When I first moved to Bangkok two and a half years ago, I was a fresh sap looking to plant some roots in whatever affordable housing I could find close to the office – I lived in three studio rooms in total.

I was feverishly eager and aggressive in my learning – so much so that a wise one told me that I needed to ‘slow down’.

It was good advice. I focused on accomplishing whatever tasks I had at hand and worried less about the future, hell, that was tough. And as the pile of successfully completed projects grew, so did my responsibilities and my role at the company.

That’s how life is. It’s a spiralling staircase you must ascend to reach each floor that holds the fruits of your labor. Whether this be a new car, a nicer meal out or a trip abroad with friends, you’ll be rewarded for your efforts.

No, you can’t simply be greedy and jump from floor to floor because it’s not sustainable. How long would you be able to keep that up until you burnt out?

Things develop gradually over time, be patient and learn to enjoy the climb.

Leave a Reply

