South Korea: Please Just #GetInMaBelly

south korea, korean flag, seoul

I was extremely fortunate enough to wander through Asia for two full months this summer without a major care to weigh me down. Nothing was off limits and not a lot of people can say that so it was an experience no amount of money could replace (although the 5K I spent would be nice, only kiddin’!).

I’ve always been intrigued with Korean culture and their social norms. The one month there was definitely a brain tickler so I hope you enjoy my photos as much as I enjoyed experiencing them! First up is their popular cuisine, food lovers rejoice.

Ddukbokki, korean street food, korean food
Spicy rice cake (ddukbokki) is an extremely popular Korean dish found at street vendors and subway stations that you will find actors munching on in all k-dramas. It was the first thing I put into my mouth upon arrival and it was mm-mm chewy.

korean food, seoul

pat bing soo, korean food, korean dessert

korean food, pat bing soo

Shaved ice (pat bing soo) is found in almost every café and a life saver in the sweltering heat. It’s usually topped with ice cream, red bean paste and condensed milk but there are various toppings and flavours such as Oreo cookies, green tea, mango, or berries. My favourite one came from the chain Wicked Snow. Is your tummy grumbling out in pain yet? It’s not over!

korean food, seoul

Korea

Poo-shaped snack with a thick red bean filling. Yes, I said poo.

Korea

Korea

Korea

Korea

The meal above is from Korea’s equivalent of McDonalds – Lotteria. Not going to lie, it’s pretty sad that I went to a fast food joint to get salad. Too much fried chicken and beer in my system for that month.

Korea

Korea

Korea

Korea

The questionable soft serve sour yogurt that has an interesting shape and even more interesting looking tourist eating it. You’ll see what I mean when you see the pictures here.

Korea

Alright, enough of the crazy mouth watering photos. Stay tuned for updates on night life in Korea and the living/walking clones I encountered.

xoxo,

Cyn

 

Leave a Reply

